Prizes awarded to St John’s students for achieving outstanding results

Accolades given to 11 current students and recent graduates of the College

Eleven current and recently graduated students from St John's College have been awarded prizes for their excellent work and results across the University of Cambridge.

Third-year undergraduate Luke Ashworth has received the Faculty of History Prize of £100 for outstanding performance in Part I of the Historical Tripos.

Myra Koh, a second-year undergraduate, has won the Andrew Hall Prize for the highest overall score in Part IA of the Geography Tripos.

Law undergraduate Pui Ng, who is in the third year, has been awarded the George Long Prize for Jurisprudence for outstanding performance in the Jurisprudence course.

The Donald Wart Prize has been awarded to second-year undergraduate Alexander Robson as the student who has shown the greatest proficiency in the year in the Music Tripos.

MPhil Advanced Computer Science student Josie Rey was on the winning team in the Cambridge Misinformation Hackathon, held on 18 November.

MPhil student Hiro Endo was awarded the Adam Smith Prize in the final year of his undergraduate degree in Economics. Adam Smith Prizes are awarded for the best overall examination performance and best dissertation in Part 2B of the Economics Tripos.

Of the other prize-winners who completed their studies at St John’s this year, graduate Jonathan Fox was awarded the Sara Norton Junior Prize by the Board of Examiners for the best dissertation on American Political History for his dissertation entitled Crime, Crack and Community in Dade County, Miami, 1980-1989, in Part II of the Historical Tripos.

Geography graduate Hassan Razzaq has scooped the William Vaughan Lewis Prize for his outstanding dissertation while Jun Liu, who took his Master of Advanced Study Degree in Mathematics, receives the Tyson Medal. Given for the best achievement in a subject related to astronomy, the medal is awarded annually for performance in the Mathematical Tripos Part III exam if there is a deserving candidate.

Timon Staehler has been awarded the Ruth and Mike Smith Words-and-Music Prize for the best dissertation on relationships between words and music, and Theology graduate Sarah Adegbite has been awarded two University prizes for excellent performances in Part II of the Tripos: The Lightfoot Prize for her performance in Church History and the Theological Studies Prize.

All the recipients have received personal letters of congratulations from Heather Hancock, the Master of St John’s.

Published 1/12/2023

Back to College News