St John’s students scoop University accolades for outstanding academic performance

End-of-year prizes awarded for exceptional results in exams and dissertations

Sixteen current and recently graduated students from St John’s College have been awarded University and Departmental Prizes for achieving exceptional results in the 2021-2022 academic year.

Mahin Vekaria, a third-year Economics student, received the Adam Smith Dissertation Prize from the Faculty of Economics.

Fellow third-year Economics student Maxim Alexandroff Wilson was presented with the Joan Robinson Prize for outstanding performance in Part IIA of the Economics exam.

Sixth-year medical student Amy Huseyin was awarded a Distinction in the Part III Medicine exams.

Hannah Kang Wolter, in the second year of her degree in Asian and Middle Eastern Studies, has been awarded the Michael Loewe Prize from the Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies.

Nuria Bosch Masip, a third-year studying Linguistics, was awarded the Sidney Allen Prize.

Sergiu Petrusca, third-year undergraduate in Natural Sciences, was awarded the Departmental Prize for an outstanding performance in Part II Chemistry.


Theology, Religion and Philosophy of Religion students Sarah Adegbite (see video above), who is in her second year and is Co-President of the JCR undergraduate committee, and third-year Eliane Bedu were both awarded Theological Studies Prizes.

Law undergraduates Pearl Ng, a first year, and third-year Rory Craig received the George Long Prize for Roman Law and the Norton Rose Fulbright Prize for Commercial Law respectively.

Two third-year Music students scooped special awards: Katrina Toner won the Ruth and Mike Smith Words Prize for the best dissertation on relationships between words and music, while Joseph Hancock received the Winifred Georgina Holgate-Pollard Memorial Prize for outstanding results in the Part II examinations.

Two third-year English students were also awarded prizes for impressive academic performances. Max Thomas won the Mrs Claude Beddington Prize for the candidate who showed the greatest distinction in the Part II English Tripos exams, as well as the Austin Dobson Prize for distinguished performance in the compulsory elements of the examination. William Pocock received the Edward Said Prize for an outstanding dissertation.

Tara Ramsey-Patel, a third-year reading Psychological and Behavioural Sciences (PBS), won the PBS Commendation Prize as the top performing student in PBS Part II and for gaining Firsts in all papers.

Third-year Engineering student Oscar Saharoy won the Institute of Nuclear Engineers Jeffrey Lewins Prize.

All the prize-winning students have been sent letters of congratulations from Heather Hancock, Master of St John’s College.

Published 1/8/2022

Back to College News