Students awarded prizes for excellence - June 2013 update

Dimitra Liotsiou, Kirsten Paige, Malte Schwarzkopf and Rebecca Wagner have all been awarded prizes in recognition of their excellent work.

The following students are among those whose excellent work has been recognised by the University, or external organisations and academic institutions, since April 2013.

Dimitra Liotsiou, who graduated in 2012, was awarded the departmental prize for her final-year dissertation in Part II of the Computer Science Tripos. The dissertation, Parallelizing Ant Colony Optimisation-based solutions to the Vehicle Routing Problem in Scala, was highly commended as among the best in the year group.

Kirsten Paige, due to receive an MPhil in Music this year, recently won the Thurston Dart Research Grant from the Royal Musical Association.

Malte Schwarzkopf’s paper Omega: flexible, scalable schedulers for large compute clusters was recently presented at the European Conference on Computer Systems where it was awarded ‘best student paper’. The work is a result of his research placement at Google, and collaboration with researchers from the University of California, Berkley, and Google. Malte is currently reading for a PhD in Computer Science at St John’s.

Rebecca Wagner has been awarded the Peter Parish Prize this year, by the British Association of American Studies, for the best research proposal in American History. She also received a Lynn E May Study Grant from the Southern Baptist Historical Library Archives, and a Life and Legacy of Billy Graham Research Grant from the Institute for the Study of American Evangelicals. Rebecca is currently reading for her PhD in History at St John’s.