Johnian Bakerian Lecturers of the Royal Society

"The premier lecture in physical sciences"

The Bakerian Medal and Lecture is the Royal Society’s foremost lecture in the physical sciences, and was established by way of a £100 bequest from the prominent naturalist, Henry Baker. The first lecture was given in 1775, the year after his death.

Listed below are the 15 Johnians who have given the Bakerian Lecture to date, along with the year and title of their lecture.

John Frederick William Herschel (1823). On certain Motions produced in Fluid Conductors when transmitting the Electric Current.

William Grylls Adams (1875). On the Forms of Equipotential Curves and Surfaces and on Lines of Flow.

Arthur Schuster (1884). Experiments on the Discharge of Electricity through gases. Sketch of a Theory.

Arthur Schuster (1890). The Discharge of Electricity through Gases. Preliminary Communication.

George Howard Darwin (1891). On Tidal Prediction.

Walter Rosenhain (1899). The Crystalline Structure of Metals.

Joseph Larmor (1909). On the Statistical and Thermo-dynamical Relations of Radiant Energy.

Charles Algernon Parsons (1918). Experiments on the Artificial Production of Diamond.

Edward Victor Appleton (1937). Regularities and Irregularities in the Ionosphere.

Paul Adrien Maurice Dirac (1941). The physical interpretation of quantum mechanics.

Harold Jeffreys (1952).  The origin of the solar system.

Nevill Francis Mott (1953). Dislocations, plastic flow and creep in metals.

Marcus Laurence Elwin Oliphant (1955). The acceleration of charged particles to very high energies.

Fred Hoyle (1968). Review of recent developments in cosmology.

Abdus Salam (1980). Gauge unification of fundamental forces.

Christopher Martin Dobson (2003). Protein folding and misfolding: from theory to therapy.


Bakerian Lecture - Royal Society