Royal Academy of Engineering Awards

“Recognising excellence in engineering”

Founded in 1976, the Royal Academy of Engineering offers a variety of annual awards and prizes to reward achievement at all career stages, with an emphasis on those who provide societal benefit.

  • Prince Philip Medal

Lord Browne of Madingley (1999)             

  • Silver Medal

Richard Friend (2002)

Stephen Furber (2003)

Eben Upton (2013)

Andrew Lynn (2021)

  • Sir George Macfarlane Medal

Matthew Cole (2015)

  • Armourers and Brasiers Company Prize

Serena Best (2019)

Also, in 2020, 4 Johnians were recognised with the President’s Special Award for Pandemic Service:

Duncan Macfarlane

Jennifer Schooling

Tim Minshall

Alan Thorne


Find out more: