The English Society

The Society

The English Society was founded to bring together the community of students and enthusiasts of English literature at St John’s. All students of English are automatically members of the Society, although any junior or senior member of the College is entitled to be a member and warmly welcome. Many of our events, including readings and lectures, are open to all who are interested, whether from inside and outside the University.

Alumni and past fellows of St Johns include a number of prominent literary figures, including Thomas Wyatt, John Cleveland, Robert Herrick, Matthew Prior, William Wordsworth, Henry Kirke White, Samuel Butler, Hugh Sykes Davies and Douglas Adams.

Through its Harper-Wood Studentship, the College has also supported many other important writers, such as Thom Gunn, Michael Hofmann, Sarah Howe, and Vahni Capildeo. In recent years St John’s has also appointed Writers in Residence, including Michael Schmidt, Alan Jenkins and Sasha Dugdale, who have been closely involved with English Society events.


The English Society aims to nurture appreciation of literature in all its forms, both old and new, by hosting free, public literary events, such as readings and lectures, within the College each term.

It also brings together its members as a community for social occasions, which in recent years have included popular Burns Night celebrations and post-exam garden parties.

Committee 2023-24

President: Jude Lilley (al2068)

Secretary: Alice Warrington (aw952)

Junior Treasurer: Audrey Dasig (masdcd2)

Senior Treasurer: Dr Orietta Da Rold

Back to Clubs and Societies