

THE JOHNIAN DINNER, 1909.

HE eighth of the dinners given by the Master and Fellows to Masters of Arts of the College on the Boards was held this year on July 29th, the usual date, somewhere in the third week in June,

having on this occasion to be departed from on account of the celebration by the University of the centenary of the birth of Charles Darwin. On this occasion members of the College who graduated in the following groups of the years were invited: 1869-1871; 1886-1888; 1902-1903.

The following is a list of those present at the dinner, with the date of their degrees. Those resident in the University have an asterisk.

*THE MASTER, 1875

*THE PRESIDENT, 1848

*Mr J. W. H. Atkins, 1901

*Dr H. F. Baker, 1887 *Prof W. Bateson, 1883

*Mr E. A. Benians, 1902

Mr R. H. Bigg, 1888

*Mr F. F. Blackman, 1891

*Mr V. C. Boddington, 1909 *Dr T. G. Bonney, 1856

Mr C. S. H. Brereton, 1886

Mr H. H. Brindley, 1887

*Dr T. J. I'A. Bromwich, 1895

Mr E. J. Brooks, 1888

Mr G. E. D. Brown, 1887

*Mr L. H. K. Bushe-Fox, 1885

Mr J. W. Cassels, 1869

*Prof E. C. Clark, 1858 Mr P. Clementi-Smith, 1871

Mr R. W. Close, 1870

Mr J. Collin, 1887

*Mr W. A. Cox, 1867

*Mr J. A. Crowther, 1905 VOL. XXXI. Mr G. E. Cruickshank, 1871

Mr R. P. Davies, 1870

Mr C. B. Drake, 1869 Mr J. H. B. Fletcher, 1902

Mr A. W. Flux, 1887

Mr W. H. Foster, 1903

Mr F. P. Franklin-Evans, 1886

*Mr E. Gold, 1903

Sir A. G. Greenhill, 1870

*Mr A. A. Guest-Williams, 1909

*Mr A. F. Hall, 1909

Mr G. H. Hallam, 1869

Mr W. I. Harding, 1903

*Mr A. Harker, 1882 *Mr J. H. A. Hart, 1898

*Mr T. H. Havelock, 1900

*Mr W. E. Heitland, 1871

Mr F. W. Hill, 1886

Mr W. N. Hill, 1902

Mr J. B. Hiron, 1903

Mr G. A. Hopkins, 1902 Mr C. T. Horton, 1902

*Mr F. Horton, 1903

*Mr J. C. H. How, 1903 Mr H. Howlett, 1869 Mr H. B. Jenkins, 1903 Mr P. Lake, 1887 Mr P. U. Lasbrey, 1902 *Mr J. G. Leathem, 1894 Mr E. L. Levett, 1870 *Mr J. J. Lister, 1880 *Dr G. D. Liveing, 1850 Mr H. W. Macklin, 1888 *Dr J. E. Marr, 1879 *Mr J. B. Mullinger, 1866 Mr J. Noon, 1870 Mr J. Parkinson, 1903 Mr J. A. Percival, 1869 *Mr C. B.Rootham, 1897

Mr R. P. Roseveare, 1888 Mr J. S. Salman, 1869 Mr J. P. Seabrook, 1867 Prof A. C. Seward, 1886 *Mr E. E. Sikes, 1889 Mr F. Slator, 1902 *Mr R. Stansfeld, 1909 *Mr H. F. Stewart, 1886 *Dr J. R. Tanner, 1883 Mr J. F. Tarleton, 1888 Mr T. B. Tatham, 1886 Mr T. Varley, 1887 *Mr J. T. Ward, 1876 Mr G. H. Whitaker, 1870 Mr W. S. Wood, 1871

The Toast list was as follows: "The King," "The Guests," proposed by the Master, responded to by Mr E. L. Levett K.C.; "The Master and Fellows," proposed by Mr G. H. Hallam.



THE JOHNIAN DINNER, 1912.



HE following is a list of those who accepted invitations to the dinner, with the dates of their first degrees. Those resident in the University have an asterisk affixed to their

names:

*THE MASTER, 1875 *THE PRESIDENT, 1850 Mr F. Ayers, 1891 Mr H. C. M. Barton, 1874 Mr F. C. Bayard, 1874 Mr F. C. Bayattd, 1874

*Mr E. A. Benians, 1902

Mr J. H. Bentley, 1906

*Mr F. F. Blackman, 1891

*Dr T. G. Bonney, 1856

Mr J. Briggs, 1891

Mr P. H. Brown, 1889

Dr W. L. Brown, 1892

Mr R. D. D. Brownson Mr R. D. D. D. Brownson, 1905 Mr H. J. Bunnsted, 1890 *Mr L. H, K. Bushe-Fox, 1885 Mr W. J. Caldwell, 1891 *Mr H. D. Catling, 1892 Mr E. A. Chichester, 1873 Mr H. F. J. Coape-Arnold, 1872 Mr H. E. H. Coombes, 1889 Mr H. Cowie, 1872 *Mr W. A. Cox, 1867 *Mr J. A. Crowther, 1905 Mr F. R. J. Easton, 1905 Mr H. Edmonds, 1905 Mr H. K. Finch, 1905 Mr W. W. S. Fleet, 1906 Mr J. Fraser, 1906 Mr H. L. Garrett, 1902 Mr C. Gathorne, 1905 Mr F. B. Glover, 1890 Dr L. G. Glover, 1889 *Mr C. E. Graves, 1862 *Mr R. P. Gregory, 1901 Mr S. H. Hall, 1873 Mr H. W. Harris, 1905 Mr A. B. Haslam, 1873 Mr H R. Hassé, 1906 *Mr W. E. Heitland, 1871 Mr J. T. Hewitt, 1890 Dr W. M. Hicks, 1873 Mr A. Hoare, 1873 Mr H. Holcroft, 1874

*Mr F. Horton, 1903 Mr T. W. Hutchinson, 1873 Mr P. C. V. Jones, 1905 Mr H. A. King, 1892 *Mr J. J. Lister, 1880
*Mr J. J. Lister, 1880
*Mr H. M. Lloyd Mr G. H. Long, 1905 Prof. E. W. MacBride, 1891 *Dr J. E. Marr, 1879 Mr T. K. B. Nevinson, 1874 Mr F. C. Newbery, 1892 Mr W. Nutley, 1892 Mr J. Oliver, 1872 Mr T. E. Page, 1873 *Prof. E. J. Rapson, 1884 *Mr C. M. Rice, 1892 Mr P. J. Richards, 1889 *Mr W. H. R. Rivers, 1898 Mr J. B. Ronaldson, 1906 *Dr C. B. Rootham, 1897 Mr H. C. Rose, 1905 Mr W. G. Rushbrooke, 1872 *Sir John Sandys, 1867 Mr J. Sanger, 1891 *Mr C. E. Sayle, 1891 Mr J. E. Sears, 1905 *Prof. A. C. Seward, 1886 *Dr L. E. Shore, 1885 *Mr E. E. Sikes, 1889 Mr A. E. Stansfeld, 1905 *Mr A. J. Stevens, 1867 *Dr C M. Stevenson, 1905 *Mr H. F. Stewart, 1886 Mr T. G. Strain, 1905 *Dr J. R. Tanner, 1883 Dr J. J. H. Teall, 1873 Mr W. W. C. Topley, 1907 Mr B. West, 1874 Mr H. G. Willacy, 1873 *Mr P. N. F. Young, 1906



THE JOHNIAN DINNER, 1914.

HE twelfth of the dinners given by the Master and Fellows to Masters of Arts of the College on the Boards was held on Wednesday, June 24th. On this occasion members of the College who graduated in the following groups of years were invited: 1856—1866; 1879—1882; 1897—1900. The following is a list of those present at the dinner, with the dates of their degrees. Those resident in the University have an asterisk.

*THE MASTER, 1875 *THE PRESIDENT, 1850 Mr H. M. Adler, 1897 Dr F. J. Allen, 1879 Mr G. R. Alston, 1881 Mr W. Baily, 1860 Mr W. H. Bansall, 1881 Canon A. T. Barnett, 1881 Mr J. H. Beith, 1898 *Mr E. A. Benians, 1902 Mr J. Bigwood, 1863 *Mr F. F. Blackman, 1891 Dr W. A. Bond, 1879 *Dr T. G. Bonney, 1856 Mr A. B. Browne, 1879 Mr H. R. Browne, 1880 *Mr L. H. K. Bushe-Fox, 1885 Dr A. Caldecott, 1880 *Dr E. C. Clark, 1858 Mr J. S. Clementson, 1882 Mr F. H. Colson, 1880 *Mr W. A. Cox, 1867 Mr G. Crossley, 1881 Mr C. Elsee, 1898

*Mr R. S. Eves, 1909

Mr J. R. Foster, 1897

*Mr H. S. Foxwell, 1871

Mr J. Francis, 1861 Mr H. F. Fullagar, 1897 Mr A. Fuller, 1856 Mr E. H. Genge, 1866 Mr J. George, 1866 Mr P. F. Gorst, 1862 *Mr R. P. Gregory, 1901 Mr C. G. Griffinhoofe, 1880 Mr W. H. Gunston, 1879 Mr J. H. Hayes, 1897 Mr T. H. Hennessy, 1898 *Mr A. S. Hibberd, Mr E. Hill, 1866 Mr R. H. Horton-Smith, 1856 Mr A. R. Ingram, 1899 Canon H. D. Jones, 1865 Mr T. H. D. La Touche, 1880 *Mr I. G. Leathem, 1894 Mr W. J. Lee, 1879 *Mr J. J. Lister, 1880 Mr W. S. F. Long, 1880 Mr L. H. Luddington, 1897 Mr A. S. Lupton, 1898 Mr J. C. Matthews, 1897 Mr R. H. Meyrick, 1865 Mr E. H. Molesworth, 1882 Prebendary H. W. Moss, 1864

Dr G. C. Moore Smith, 1881 *Dr J. Bass Mullinger, 1866 Canon H. Gibson Smith, 1881 Mr A. Pagan, 1882 Mr R. C. Smith-Carington, 1879 Mr A. H. Peake, 1900 *Mr A. I. Stevens, 1867 Mr I. Peiris, 1882 *Mr H. F. Stewart, 1886 Canon W. E. Pryke, 1866 Mr T. Stone, 1880 Mr M. H. Quayle, 1864 Canon W. O. Sutcliffe, 1880 *Professor E. J. Rapson, 1884 *Dr J. R. Tanner, 1883 *Mr W. H. R. Rivers, 1898 Mr E. H. Vigers, 1900 Dr J. W. Rob, 1898 Mr R. Viney, 1879 *Dr C. B. Rootham, 1897 Mr E. J. Warmington, 1863 Prebendary E. I. S. Rudd, 1863 Mr W. A. D. Rudge, 1899 Mr C. Warren, 1866 Mr K. B. F. Williamson, 1897 Mr P. Saben, 1879 Mr P. H. Winfield, 1899 *Sir John E. Sandys, 1867 Mr P. T. Wrigley, 1880 *Mr A. E. Schroeder. *Mr E. E. Sikes, 1889

The Toast List was as follows: THE KING, proposed by the Master; THE GUESTS, proposed by Dr Bonney, responded to by Prebendary Moss.